Decades ago, debates were broadcast on all over-the-air networks simultaneously and were sponsored by the Democrat leaning League of Women Voters. Maybe these days it could be True The Vote or some other non-partisan voter organization.

I had to watch the Fox Business Channel debate in mid January 2016 online because my cable company doesn’t provide it at my service level. Very recently, I didn’t have any cable at all because I couldn’t afford it. Many citizens are in the same boat and don’t even have internet service which is why it should be on the most available form of communication, free of charge.

Presidential debates belong to the people, not the corporate media that rakes in tens of millions of dollars in ad revenue. Over-the-air networks should carry it because it is the right thing to do for ALL Americans.

